The Replacements - Songs For Slim 12-Inch EP (Red & Black Split Vinyl)


Pickup available at Appleton Store

Usually ready in 2-4 days

New West Records is proud to announce Songs For Slim, a newly recorded EP from The Replacements. The proceeds of this project will benefit friend and former Replacements guitarist, solo artist and Minneapolis post-punk scene veteran Slim Dunlap, who has been partially paralyzed since suffering a massive right-brain stroke in February of 2012.

Dunlap's condition was exacerbated by a fall, which caused a hemorrhage in the left-brain and was further complicated by extensive brain swelling. He was hospitalized for nine months and his recovery has been slow - hindered by pain, paralysis of the left side and the inability to swallow. Dunlap is currently at home, being cared for by his family and a team of aides, nurses and therapists. Insurance does not pay for long term care and the general prognosis for Dunlap is that he will likely need around-the-clock care for the rest of his life.

In September of 2012, Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson reunited and entered Flowers Studio in Minneapolis (with Kevin Bowe on guitar and Peter Anderson on drums) to record Dunlap's song "Busted Up." Knocked out by the result, they roared through a few more numbers including Leon Payne's (by way of Hank Williams) "Lost Highway," Gordon Lightfoot's (by way of Nico) "I'm Not Sayin'," and "Everything's Coming Up Roses" from the Broadway show Gypsy. Original Replacements drummer Chris Mars had already recorded a scorching one-man- band version of Slim's "Radio Hook Word Hit," and all 5 tracks were combined onto this EP.

The Replacements Songs For Slim EP Track Listing:

1.  Busted Up (Slim Dunlap)
2.  Radio Hook Word Hit (Slim Dunlap)
3.  I'm Not Sayin' (Gordon Lightfoot)
4.  Lost Highway (Leon Payne)
5.  Everything's Coming Up Roses (Stephen Sondheim/Jule Styne)